A smol artist spotlight: CRYPTOMBS

wondermundo
5 min readJun 24, 2021

This is the second in a series of #smolartist profiles.

If you’re not sure what smol is, go here.

I recently jumped into my first Twitter space with @Empress and really enjoyed hearing other artists share their story of how they got into #smols. I started with KC’s story because something he said was my favorite quote from the whole space, “The hobo is taken.” Read about KC here.

I had seen CRYPTOMBS around before because I tend to be drawn to anything creepy, but what really drew me in was that it is a way to talk about death.

I know at least in the United States, we are afraid to talk about dying but we really should. I think CRYPTOMBS project is a neat way to get us talking about the Inevitable End that isn’t super serious, which is better than nothing.

Anyway, I digress. The Twitter space was the first time I interacted with CRYPTOMBS and I was so glad he was there. It was my first time trying to co-host with Empress (spoiler: I suck at it!) and was more awkward than usual.

But when CRYPTOMBS came up to speak, I felt so relieved. He laid down some quick space etiquette and then led the way by actually talking about himself vs me: 🦗

I can’t remember exactly how CRYPTOMBS introduced himself but it was so on point. I believe he may have referred to himself as a mortician, but I really enjoyed hearing about how #smol helped bring attention to the pixel art he was already doing.

--

--

wondermundo

Hidden part expressing and healing itself through art, especially #nfts and #cryptoart